Oxford Said MIF

Rankings | Class Profile | Employment Report | Sample Essay | Interview Questions

Oxford Said MIF Introduction

The MIF program at Oxford said it is called MSc in Financial Economics. Oxford Said MIF Class Profile brings together diverse students with different goals in its portfolio. Intellectually tough and highly practical, the distinctive nature of the programme will give students an outstanding international training in the tools sought by financial institutions and companies, in a variety of different industries. Saïd Business School finance faculty, together with the Department of Economics delivers the 9-month programme combining rigorous academic training with tailored real-world applications, designed in consultation with leading financial recruiters. Scroll down for further information on Oxford Said MIF Average GMAT, Oxford Said Mif Class Profile, Oxford Said MIF Application Process, employment report, Oxford Said Mif fees, and more.

Oxford Said MSc Financial Economics programme offers the opportunity to work through case studies and apply key theoretical concepts, processes, instruments, and models that are required to be successful in financial services. Said business school aims to connect theory with practice, preparing students for investment banking, private equity, and asset management Analyst and Associate roles while giving access to networking opportunities.

WHO IS IT FOR?

Oxford Said MSc Financial Economics programme is for people who are coolheaded, precise thinkers with a talent for numbers, a passion for finding the right answers, and a desire to launch a career in finance.

WHAT WILL YOU LEARN?

Oxford Said MSc Financial Economics will help you to learn fundamental tools and concepts and develop a broad, international perspective on competitive capital markets. You’ll learn how successful companies connect finance and strategy, and hone your ability to make decisions.

WHERE WILL IT TAKE YOU?

Common new graduate roles for the Oxford Said MIF class profile include:
Financial services (investment banks, hedge funds, regulatory agencies), Consulting, Fintech, Or financial and management positions including Services.

Oxford MIF Program

Oxford Said MIF Review

Program StartsSeptember 2020
Duration9 months
LocationOxford
Intake 20201
QS World Global MIF 2020 Ranking#1
Oxford Said MIF Fees£45,000
Oxford Said MIF Application Deadlines1 November to 1 May (For intermediate deadlines see application deadline section)
Oxford Said MIF Application Process. GMAT/GRE score

· Two letters of recommendation

· English language proficiency test report (IELTS/TOEFL)

. CV (For more details see application process section)
  • Asset Pricing
  • Corporate Finance
  • Economics
  • Financial Econometrics
  • Advanced Econometrics: Forecasting
  • Asset Management*
  • Behavioural and Experimental Economics
  • Big Data in Finance
  • Continuous Time Finance
  • Corporate Valuation*
  • Financial Crises and Risk Management*
  • Financial Markets Trading*
  • Fixed Income and Derivatives
  • Fundamental Analysis for Active Investing
  • Governance and Ethics*
  • Identification in Finance and Social Science*
  • Information and Communication in Finance
  • International Finance
  • Mergers, Acquisitions and Restructuring*
  • Private Equity*
  • Real Estate*
  • The Nature of the Corporation*
    Electives offered can alter from year to year *electives mixed with MBA and/or MSc Law and Finance students

The Oxford Saïd Finance Lab is available to students studying the MBA, 1+1 MBA, MSc Financial Economics, or MSc Law and Finance who have a background in Finance

The Finance Lab is not for all students and assumes a level of commitment, knowledge and basic financial skill. If you have been accepted on a relevant Oxford Saïd programme, you are eligible to apply to the Finance Lab and will be sent details of the application process. We only accept applicants who complete the full application process. The application consists of a series of questions which will assess your suitability, these are reviewed alongside your CV. The Finance Lab runs concurrently within your degree programme.

Oxford clubs

There are over 200 registered clubs and societies representing a breadth of interests from entertainment to the arts, language, politics, sports and  beyond.

The Oxford Union

You will gain life-long membership to the most prestigious debating society in the world. During the University terms, politicians, musicians, business leaders, sporting stars and more visit Oxford to join a topical debate or share their motivational story.

12
Financial Times
1
QS World
Class Size83
Nationalities27
Female48%
Average Age22

Oxford Said MIF Placements

Oxford Said Master in Finance Placements Facts

  • £50,793 finance mean salary
  • £49,604 Consulting mean salary
  • £50,550 Average mean salary

Oxford Said Alumni Info

With 17,000+ SBS alumni in over 140 countries, which is in addition to the 300,000 University of Oxford alumni and 60 dedicated ambassadors globally, the alumni network is nothing short of stellar at Saïd. The Oxford Business Alumni (OBA) Network is the Schools official alumni community, bringing together individuals that share a common interest in business who support and serve as proud ambassadors around the globe. As a graduate of Saïd Business School, you will have the benefit of accessing alumni from all parts of the world including the wider University of Oxford alumni network.

RoundsApplication DeadlinesInterview DecisionsFinal Decisions
Round 11 Nov 201922 Nov 201913 Dec 2019
Round 210 Jan 20207 Feb 20206 Mar 2020
Round 313 Mar 20203 Apr 20201 May 2020

Oxford Said MIF Application Process

Eligibility for Oxford Said MIF Application Process

  • You should have a minimum of a 2.1 (3.5 GPA) or it’s equivalent. 
  • It’s compulsory to submit your application with a GMAT/GRE score. It is recommended that the quantitative scores are in the 90th percentile, the verbal scores are in the 80th percentile.
  • A TOEFL or IELTS test is required if you are not from an English speaking country.
  • Relevant work experience such as an internship is favorable however not mandatory.

Documents required for Oxford Said MIF Application Process

  • Transcripts of your previous institution
  • An official copy of your degree certificate
  • Online application form
  • 500-words Personal Statement
  • GMAT/GRE score
  • One page CV
  • 2 Letter of Recommendations; one academic & one professional
  • IELTS, TOEFL, Cambridge CPE, CAE or PTE Academic score (for some international students)
  • Application fee 125 USD, nonrefundable, but can be waivered.

Oxford Said MIF FEES

Oxford Said Master in Finance fees for 2020-21 is £45,000, which includes lifelong Oxford Union membership.

Applicants who are offered and accept a place on the programme are asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of £6,750, which is offset against their fees. The deposit is due 30 days after notification of acceptance.

Oxford Said MIF Funding 

Said Scholarships

Alumni Annual Fund Scholarships

Our Alumni Annual Fund (AAF) scholarships are funded through the generosity of our alumni. AAF scholarships are available for MBA and MSc in Financial Economics programmes.

  • Value: £10,000 per scholarship
  • Number available: One scholarship
  • Eligibility criteria: Awarded on the basis of academic excellence demonstrated through degree results, GMAT or GRE score, previous university prizes and awards, and other academic achievements
  • How to apply: No additional application is required. We will use the details you supply in your MSc Financial Economics application to determine your suitability for the scholarship. 
  • Deadline: 10 January 2020

These scholarships are generously funded by University of Oxford and HEC Montréal alumnus Jean Chagnon. 

  • Value: £53,000
  • Number available: One scholarship per year.
  • Eligibility criteria: Current HEC Montréal students, or those who have completed a degree-bearing programme at HEC Montréal, applying to one of the eligible Saïd Business School programmes, are eligible for this scholarship.The eligible Saïd Business School programmes are: MBA, MSc in Financial Economics, DPhil in Management, DPhil in Finance, and MSc in Major Programme Management.The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic excellence demonstrated through degree results, GMAT or GRE score (if applicable), previous university prizes and awards, and other academic achievements.
  • How to apply: No additional application is required, we will use the details you supply in your Saïd Business School application form to determine eligibility.
  • Deadline: MSc in Financial Economics: 13 March 2020

Loans

Prodigy Finance loan
  • Available to 150 nationalities
  • No co-signer, collateral or guarantees required
  • No early repayment penalties
  • Conditions apply based on individual assessment
  • Cross-border credit assessment
  • Applications are to be made directly to Prodigy Finance
  • MSc in Financial Economics: borrow up to 80% of tuition fee plus living costs
Lendwise loan
  • Available to all UK-domiciled students, plus US, Canadian and EU nationalities
  • No co-signer, collateral or guarantees required
  • No early repayment penalties
  • Application assessed on your overall profile, not just your credit score
  • Fixed interest rate for the term of your loan, personalised to you
  • Applications are to be made directly to Lendwise
  • All Saïd Business School programmes (part-time and full-time)
  • Borrow from £5,000 to £100,000 for up to 10 years
  • Borrow up to 85% of tuition fee as well as certain living costs
  • Up to six months grace period available after studies before repayments start (full time courses only, subject to approval)

Oxford Said Master in Finance Sample Essays

Is there anything not covered in the application form that you would like the Admissions Committee to know about you? Maximum 250 words.

Born and raised in Delhi, I have worked in various cities across India, and on long-term assignments in the US and UK, instilling in my appreciation for different cultures and work-environments, making me flexible, adaptable and ready to embrace diversity. While studying engineering in Kerala, I learned to speak fluent Malayalam and was the only student among 100 of my non-Malayalam speaking peers to do so, winning love and respect from peers and locals. Whilst in the UK, I lived and interacted closely with a diverse professional group including a banker, a lawyer, a doctor, all UK nationals, and a German sound engineer.

In 2006, my weight was a stupendous 19 st, making me a prime example of obesity, the leading cause of deaths worldwide. Alarmed at my condition, I decided to get back into shape, a decision that would end up being one of my life’s biggest challenges and ultimately, achievements. Recognizing that my obesity stemmed from bad eating habits and lack of exercise, I taught myself to eat healthily and exercise daily. After a year of a rigorous, self-imposed fitness regime, which constantly tested my willpower to stick to my goal, I was ecstatic when I reached a healthy 13 st. I have maintained my weight ever since, with this experience teaching me self-discipline, a necessity for successful leaders.

Determination and Diversity, two key aspects of my character, have helped me look at situations from varied perspectives and overcome seemingly insurmountable challenges in my personal and professional life.

Oxford Said Master in Finance Interview Questions

Oxford Said Master in Finance interviews, since they are conducted by the admissions committee, tend to be highly personalized and based on your whole application. During the interview, the interviewer is also trying to gauge how solid your motivations for wanting to pursue Master in Finance are and how interested you seem in the Oxford program.

Interviewers often ask many standard  interview questions, as well as questions designed to test just how collaborative you really are. You can also expect numerous follow-up questions.  If you are unable to travel to Oxford or a hub city, you may request a Skype interview. If you complete your interview via Skype, your application will not in any way suffer. Not a blind interview and interview process will last for 30 minutes.

Open chat